Skip to content

The flip side of "Beginning Internet"

August 16, 2007

Oh, good grief. Someone called a little while ago wanting to sign up for the beginning Internet class. Because she wants to be able to do E-Bay. She’s not sure she has enough experience.

1. I am not teaching anyone to do E-Bay. I once talked to a BST librarian about this, who told me they don’t assist people with E-Bay because that puts them in the role of a buying agent. So I’m glad there is a precedent set so that I can say, sorry, but I cannot help you with E-Bay!

2. This is a case where someone would get into the class and be so far ahead of the others that it would be too easy for her. I hadn’t considered this type of participant.

3. In related news, another patron called and said she wanted to sign up for the beginning Internet class. I asked if she had any computer experience because I was going to carry out some of your suggestions. She said, “No, I just play Solitaire all the time!” Perfect!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

