Skip to content

Yeah, Facebook is fun, but…what’s the point?

October 1, 2007

Here is a list of my updates from Facebook after logging in yesterday:

Carly Wiggins is present at the library.

3 hours ago Ian McKinney is at the library.

7 hours ago Kris Morris is recovering from the gig…

21 hours ago Lynn Hoffman is looking forward to a productive day.
on Friday

Edith Helbert Cummings is tired of realizing that her status update is out of date, so she’s going to leave it like this for a while.
on Thursday

Jennifer E. McKinney is making grape jelly!
last Monday

Excuse me? OK, this has been pretty much the sum of what I receive on Facebook every day. What’s the point of this? It seems just kind of, inane, you know (except for the grape jelly post, that is cool)? And I haven’t found any applications that look really useful. Like, that I can use in my job. Except, if I wanted to put my resume out there, for all the world to see. But I’m not looking for another job, and I don’t want to go into consulting, or impress people, so what’s the point?

I suppose the thing with Facebook is that you have it all out there. It’s probably true with MySpace too, but I haven’t used that yet. I guess I’m wondering, why do I need Facebook when I have a blog, to which I can post pictures, write, and do a survey which is not restricted to multiple choice? From my blog, people can write comments to me, without me publishing my e-mail address on the web.

So, I guess I’m just not convinced that I need Facebook personally. However, there are two very important issues that I have not really looked at yet.
1. How can patrons use Facebook?
2. How can libraries create a presence on Facebook?

Stephen Abrams wrote a post recently about libraries’ presence on MySpace. Let’s see some good examples on Facebook! Or, I guess I could do it myself….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

