Skip to content

Zamzar

January 31, 2008

Zamzar is a website that allows you to convert files from one format to another. This wouldn’t be of interest to the general public for basic computer needs, except for a specific situation that we deal with all the time: converting documents for editing on ACPL public computers.

Recently I helped a patron who came into the library with her flash drive, who wanted to print out documents that she had created on Office 2007. Word documents created in Office 2007 are saved by default to .docx format. I don’t think the average user knows that they need to pick the format they want to save a file in, so I think this is probably going to come up often.

One solution is to convert the file at Zamzar. You simply upload your file to their converter and it e-mails the file back to you in the format you select. It also converts other types of files.

zamzarshot.jpg

This is what Sara has to say about it:

I’ve used it lots in the past (mostly for .docx to .doc). Chuck in REA let me know about it. Getting the converted file emailed to me varied from a few minutes to a few hours. Last week I used it twice – or attempted to – and never did receive the files. I checked my junk mail, but nothing.

So, when it works, I love it. If you would have asked me two weeks ago, I would have given an unequivocal thumbs up.

~Sara

So when it works, it works great. Try it and see if you can use it with patrons.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 31, 2008 7:45 pm

    Zamzar is great! You might also want to check out these tools as well.

Leave a Reply

