Skip to content

Busy, busy, busy

March 14, 2008

It has been a very busy week here at my desk, and I am finally feeling like I’m settled in and know what my job is.  Every day this week I’ve spent doing challenging work, and I find it extremely satisfying.  I feel like I have made the transition to IT librarian and IT staff member.  It just wasn’t that difficult!  People have asked me if I thought I would miss the patrons and miss being a manager, but truthfully I don’t.

I was never unhappy working with patrons or working as a manager.  Since I’ve moved though, I have really come to appreciate the changes in my work life:

  • I have regular hours which allows me to have more time with my family and my future family
  • I am able to work uninterrupted a lot of the time.  One of the things about working public service and not having enough hours off-desk is that you can’t get things done.  I felt very frustrated that I had all kinds of ideas and work-related stuff I wanted to learn about or pursue, but never could find the time to do it.  I am able to do that in this position.  I hope the library benefits and the work I put out is valuable.
  • I am a happier, more productive worker.  Working in public service since 1982, I had become a little surly at times.
  • I feel that I work with peers in IT.  When you are the manager, you’re kind of apart from everyone else in your branch.  It was getting really lonely for me!
  • I’m using the professional part of my job, and I’m exercising my brain.  My work is challenging.  I love the troubleshooting part of my work!

There is a little problem: I like the work so much I don’t want to stop.  I have to force myself to go to lunch.  And I’m trying to work in my sleep!  I dreamed about work all night long last night.  But since I finished updating the wifi phone instructions, I think I’ll be able to relax and have fun this weekend.

You have a good weekend, too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

