Skip to content

Another GREAT list-making tool

June 11, 2008

This was has been right under my nose.

Who would have thought that OCLC’s unassuming Worldcat.org would have a fabulously useful booklist-making tool? I had looked at Worldcat’s website several months ago, before I moved into this job, when our director sent us a link to the site. But since I’ve been recently investigating tools for making booklists, I’ve been checking around for any more possibilities. I actually stumbled upon this function of Worldcat because I was looking for mobile versions of library catalogs, posted by Superpatron (I’m a new fan, Superpatron! You’re awesome!) Now I’ve got a bee in my bonnet about mobile versions of library websites, and I have an e-mail in to the systems librarian at Harris Co. Public Library, because they use Dynix for their regular catalog (we use Sirsi’s iBistro). Take a look at their cool little mobile site, where you can search the catalog, renew your books, see new book titles, and more.

Anyway, back to making a booklist. In my previous posts I’ve been concentrating on the goodness of Goodreads, which is excellent and especially excels in social networking. Worldcat.org is a tool to search the catalogs of libraries everywhere, but they’ve added this function that lets you create an account and make & share lists of books that you create. It’s really easy to use: you just search for a book, click Save to, then choose a list: Book I Recommend, Books I Own, Books to Check Out, or create a new list. You can keep your list private or make it public and share it with others. The best part is, that when you view a book in your list, you can link to your library’s catalog (based on the zip code you enter in your profile) where you can then place a hold on it. Here’s a screenshot:

I just think this is amazing and incredibly useful. So I’ll be adding it to my list of tools to help patrons keep track of their books. This is a jewel waiting to be discovered!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2008 1:49 pm

    hey thanks, and thanks for the worldcat info.

    I always wonder about tools for keeping lists of books what we gain vs. a little paper book with a list in it vs. electronic versions of same – the more avid library user in my household keeps her reading list on paper quite faithfully, and seems to do well for it.

  2. Melissa permalink*
    June 11, 2008 3:42 pm

    I keep mine both ways. I don’t have Internet access at home (sad but true for an IT librarian), so I’ll jot things down. I also find books serendipitously at my neighborhood branch. We have a lot of power users who feel that they need some kind of tool to keep track, and I’m practically desperate to find them something they can click on.

    So nice to have you visit and comment, Superpatron!

  3. June 12, 2008 9:43 am

    Thanks for all your kind words, Melissa. Glad you’re finding the social tools on WorldCat helpful, and let us know if your patrons have additional things they’d like to see. Or shoot us a message about the fun ways you’re using lists with RSS to push out new materials, and more. You know, you could add your WorldCat list right to your blog sidebar…

  4. Melissa permalink*
    June 12, 2008 9:57 am

    Why, Alice, you’re right! I think I had meant to add it and got caught up in exploration and discovery. (Ain’t it grand?)

Leave a Reply

