Skip to content

Why librarians need to knit (or crochet)

July 15, 2008
tags:

Recent conversation overheard at my workplace:

“You want me to do what?”

“I can’t do that.”

“That doesn’t make any sense.”

“But that’s ridiculously complicated.”

“Why would you do it that way?”

“But you can’t do it that way.”

“It’ll mess everything up.”

“I’ve never done it that way before.”

“That’s insane!”

<eye rolling>

“Oh, for crying out loud.”

“I have to do this for how long?

“You have got to be joking.”

“Well, that might work for someone else but there’s no way it’ll work for me.”

“What if I mess up?”

<heavy dramatic sighing>

“See, I’m trying it and it’s not working.”

“I told you it wouldn’t work.”

“Oh fine, I’ll just start over again.”

<pouting>

“How will I ever get it to be right?”

“Fine.  Whatever.  I’ll just do it.   Apparantly I have no choice.”

<combination eye-roll and dramatic sigh>

“Wow.  That actually looks kinda good.”

************************************************************************************************************

No, I was not a managers’ meeting.  I was on my lunch trying to crochet a new square for an afghan I’m making.

But when I listened to the uncooperative spirit in my head fighting with this difficult stitch I was trying to learn, I thought it sounded a heck of a lot like the things I’m hearing around my library these days.

We’re having a budget crisis. And a lot of people are having a hard time staying motivated.  I understand, because I work for the library too.

But there seems to be some kind of institutional paralysis setting in, just when we need to be thinking fast on our feet.  I’ve been criticized in the last week because I’ve introduced new stuff that the library is doing using technology.

This is my point: the time to innovate is NOW.  If we had to do it before, in order to keep up with the rest of the world, we need to do it now especially, in order to solve problems.

We are losing $1.5 million in funding, yes; but we don’t have to be frozen by it.  This is the time to move forward and use our creativity to come up with solutions to the predicament that’s plaguing us.

That’s what I’m working on every day.  And at lunch, I crochet!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 4:26 pm

    And you’re a poet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

