Skip to content

How do you read your favorite blogs?

July 28, 2008

I was reading a blog today (that I have fed to me via RSS) and found a great tool for delivering information straight to your readers/customers.  Nouri.sh uses the power of RSS to deliver information to your readers in the form of an e-mail newsletter.  This really got me excited because lots of ACPL staff are experiencing information overload, as well as general work overload and they feel that they don’t have time to learn about RSS feeds.

I’m going to be talking about RSS in this month’s Geek Out, Don’t Freak Out! at ACPL, but I am very interested in trying this out.  If this would be a valuable/useful/better way to get information to people, I am all for it.

With Nouri.sh, I am able to consolidate one or more RSS feeds, schedule the interval that they will be sent out as an e-mail newsletter, and create a list of recipients.  I can put a subscription link on a blog where people can add their e-mail address with one click.  This is different than the current e-mail subscription widget I have on this blog right now; clicking on this only allows a reader to subscribe to my blog by e-mail.  In contrast, Nouri.sh allows me to design newsletters based on interest, feeding as many blogs as I want into a single newsletter; so there are several ideas I have for using it:

  • create a book lover’s newsletter which feeds posts from The Reading Room and ACPLinfo
  • send out an ACPL Technology News newsletter to interested staff from my blog and Sean’s
  • send out events newsletters, like a book discussion groups update

See where I’m going?  This is a potentially very useful tool and I’m looking forward to using it.

So, I’m curious: how do you read your favorite blogs?

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 31, 2009 2:49 am

    I am new in the blog world,but I am intrigued by what you wrote. I would love to be able to email my blog to my friends, and have it easily accessed to them.

Leave a Reply

