Skip to content

I am a Library Society of the World “Shover and Maker”

March 26, 2009

The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition, defines plucky as “having or showing courage and spirit in trying circumstances”. I attribute this rather positive character trait to my title because I am brave despite my own self. At the risk of opening myself up to a world of ridicule (which would be deserved) I will tell you that the only one who keeps me from becoming THE most world-famous, most awesome librarian EVER, is me. 🙂

Despite the plaguing self-doubt that I experience almost daily, I have managed to do something in my position as Technology Librarian at the Allen County Public Library that I think is useful *and* fulfilling: I make videos of myself and put them on YouTube.  Do I know how to have fun or what?

Deb Noggle, one of our branch managers sent me an e-mail the other day that was so complimentary of these videos, but she describes very well what they accomplish:

Melissa,
I know I e-mail you about this almost weekly, but I just have to tell you how exciting it is watching you become the face of the ACPL.  You exude knowledge, helpfulness, and a genuine friendliness in your weekly video of events.  It’s really great that there is a person that patrons can watch and feel like they’re making a connection with.  You talk to the camera like you are someone’s next door neighbor giving out helpful advice about what’s going on for the weekend!  I really enjoy watching your spots each week, and can definitely see a progression of comfort level for you—and that is something that’s not really easy for everyone to do.  It just keeps getting better and better.
This is really great work.  (And I will try to stop stalking you with my weekly messages!)
DN

My goal in making these videos to is make a personal-feeling connection with patrons to tell them about stuff they don’t want to miss at the library. I hope that’s what they’re getting. I’m feeling pretty good about them.

When my manager asked me to start doing them, I told him, “I always wanted to do commercials!” This was not completely untrue. I grew up with TV and was a reluctant reader, and in my kid imagination I always thought it would be cool to do commercials or act. A couple of years ago, I did some community theater, and really enjoyed it. So my stagefright and camerafright, if I ever had any, are nonexistent; and I really do feel comfortable in front of the camera. I have quite an imagination, and I just try to translate that into my videos. Maybe it’s good that the childlike part of my brain never quite went away!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 1, 2009 12:29 pm

    That is very cool!

Leave a Reply

