Skip to content

A Day in the Life of a Library, Day 3

July 29, 2009

I’ve had a really active, interesting day today.

This morning I worked at the Dupont Branch again, which I usually don’t do.  I worked this morning to make up for time I missed yesterday afternoon.

Again I checked in and did circulation work and prepared for the library to open.  I worked the reference desk for an hour before coming back to my office.  Some of the requests I had were:

  • Consumer Reports guide to appliances
  • Naruto #45
  • Pay for Print instruction
  • Adventures in Odyssey radio shows on CD
  • Guidance on how to write wedding invitations (including showing me pictures of her fiance–very sweet)
  • I set up a job applicant to take our online Dewey Decimal skills test.  I wrote the tutorial about how staff administer this test to applicants!

Back at my office, I read e-mails and thought up about a zillion more ideas of things to do, with no clear plan of how to accomplish them.  It seems that a lot of library staff have *great* ideas but lack the time to carry them out.  I am determined to write all these things down and make them happen.

I received a voice mail from a librarian in Frankfort, Indiana, inviting me to be on a panel at the fall Indiana Online Users Group conference.  This will be my seventh public speaking opportunity this year!  I plan to post a schedule of all of them soon.  I’m very grateful to be invited.

After lunch I worked with our Events Coordinator to finalize meeting room scheduling and setup for ACPL Library Camp.

After that I attended Ask a Librarian training.  Did you know we answer reference questions via e-mail at ACPL?  I hope that one day we will answer them by text messaging as well.

I’m wrapping up my day by following up on some details about Library Camp, writing this post, and thinking about my day tomorrow, when I will open up a meeting room at the main library for the first Handheld Librarian Online Conference.  All library staff are invited to attend all or part of the day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

