Skip to content

Anythink Libraries visit

October 14, 2009

I visited the fantastic folks at the Anythink Libraries in Colorado this week, just north of Denver.  What an amazing place!  The Rangeview Library District, formerly the Adams County library system, is completely re-creating itself with a new brand, a new classification system, new buildings, and new technology skills.  Under the leadership of visionary, “magical” director Pam Sandlian Smith, this Colorado library district is transforming into a library where the possibilities for learning, exploring and imagining are endless.

IMG_0529Not only do they have new library buildings, but the Anythinkers have created a new classification system known as WordThink.  It’s easier to understand than the bookstore classification system known as BISAC, and when used in combination with careful placement of books into “neighborhoods”, the browsing experience is pleasant and fruitful.

While I was there I also joined the Anythinkers Goodreads group.  The interesting thing about visiting Anythink is that I immediately felt like I was an Anythinker, too!

The Anythinkers put a TechFest page out for their use after the day, using Protopage.  Shannon did a great job of leading us through what Protopage can do.  I attended a session with Stacie, who toured us around the Anythink website.

Thank you Pam, Ronnie, Stacie, Steve, and Mindy, for welcoming me and letting me join in this special day.  It was so worth getting over my fear of flying to meet you all!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2009 12:56 pm

    Melissa, our thanks go out to you for a wonderful presentation. It was the highlight of my day and it was such a pleasure to meet you in person.

  2. October 16, 2009 2:19 pm

    I was so pleased to come visit…what a great bunch you all are! Thank you ever so much for inviting me!

  3. October 19, 2009 11:04 am

    Whoa! Did NOT expect to see my handiwork in your presentation. And then WHOA! did not expect to see *ME* in your presentation! I hope my appearance did not hinder your efforts. 😀

Leave a Reply

